September Book Haul

I can’t believe we’re over half way through September already! Time is flying by. I’ve been a bit more reserved in my book buying recently, and in fact I only actually paid for four of these books as I managed to get the other two by using my Waterstones points. Every little helps! Anyway, here’s what I’ve got.

Angela Carter’s Book of Fairytales, Virago, 445pp, 

I saw this online and fell in love. I’m a sucker for pretty books and even more so for fairytales. This is a collection of stories from around the world, and not the kind meant for children. I really want to learn more about folklore/myths/legends/fairytales from other countries so I’m really looking forward to reading this. And look how pretty!

The Elder Edda: Myths, Gods and Heroes from the Viking World, Penguin, 432pp

Speaking of mythology… The Elder Edda is a collection of Nordic tales that are said to have inspired JRR Tolkien’s writing. I am SO excited about reading this. It is written in verse which is something I have had very little exposure to in the past but that is something I’m hoping to amend. I like to think that I read a good variety of genres but I’m really hoping to widen my collection further by reading more translated fiction, banned fiction and classical texts including plays/political ramblings (Aristotle/Plato/Socrates). The Elder Edda fits nicely in this aim as a piece of translated mythology and also complements my fairytale-esque addiction. Perfecto. Penguin have a few books in this myths and legends series including The Saga of the Volsungs, Sir Gawain and the Green Knight, Beowulf and The Wanderer: Elegies, Epics, Riddles. 

The Penelopiad by Margaret Atwood, Cannongate, 221pp

The Penelopiad is a retelling of Homer’s The Odyssey, but from the perspective of his wife, Penelope. It is written as if Penelope is having a chat with the reader from the underworld. She has been dead for thousands of years and wants to finally set the story straight on her life.  It details her trials and adventures from just before she married Odysseus to just after he returned to Ithaca after fighting in the Trojan war and it is very interesting. It mentions some of Odysseus’ escapades during the twenty years he was away and details how she defended her dignity and honour from the many suitors who sought to claim her in order to gain Odysseus’ throne in his absence. I really enjoyed this perspective on the Trojan war and how females were portrayed in classical Greek literature. It has made me want to go read them… More books to add to my tbr list!  I will have a review up for you very soon.

Queen of Shadows by Sarah J Maas, Bloomsbury, 656pp

This is the fourth installment in Maas’ Throne of Glass series. Aelin Galathynius returns to Rifthold to get revenge on the King of Assassins, Arobynn and to kill the King of Adarlan by releasing magic back into the Kingdoms he’s dominated. Young Adult Fantasy at its best. I love this series so much, and Sarah J Maas is creeping ever closer to being my most owned author. Her writing is fantastic and her world building is incredible. Love Love Love. Check out my review of her new series A Court of Thorns and Roses.

The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson, Gollancz, 672pp

After falling in love with fantasy fiction all over again this summer, I thought I’d give this ago. This is the first book in an adult fantasy series about a world that has been ruled by evil for a long, long time. It’s citizens, known as the Skaa, have been worn down to the point where they no longer resist the Lord Ruler. That is until a group of mistborn start a rebellion against him in the hope to overthrow the system. I’m really looking forward to getting into this series, it comes so highly recommended. I don’t know much of what happens but I know that some characters in this world have the ability to gain extra powers (i think? maybe enhanced talents, not sure yet! ) through mixing metals which apparently gives a unique credibility to the magic of the world. I haven’t read any adult fantasy since I finished the A Song of Ice and Fire series by GRR Martin so I have high expectations. I’ll keep you updated.

 

The Dragon Keeper by Robin Hobb, Harper Voyager , 554pp

This is the first installment of Robin Hobb’s Rain Wild Chronicles, an adult fantasy series recommended for fans of A Song of Ice and Fire series. Robin Hobb is a well known name in the fantasy genre and you can’t browse that section of bookstores without clocking her books. She has written a vast number of fantasy books so I’m hoping I’ll love her world and writing and have a whole selection of new fantasy to dive into.  As this is my first foray into Hobb’s work I don’t know what to expect but from the blurb I think we can expect dragons, magic and adventure and I can’t wait!

 

That’s it for my haul this month, I’m sure once I’ve started one of the new series I’ll be getting the sequels too but this is a great start! Happy reading!

Advertisements

One thought on “September Book Haul

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s